This will be short, I did the right thing in the race, but I still don't like it.
It was a tough, hot run. I was ahead of my pace until about 4.5 miles. I had been cramping and struggling for about 3 miles and then I started feeling light-headed and dizzy. I made the right decision and slowed down to a walk. I walked for a few minutes until I felt better and I was able to finish running.
I finished with a time of 1:06:10 and accomplished 3 of 4 goals, but I am disappointed with myself. I wasn't fully committed to my training. I didn't have a set schedule and I let the weather become an excuse. If I had done more in the three weeks leading up to the race, I would have done better in the race, or at least I would feel better about how I did.
Well, no more excuses. After this is posted, the next thing I am going to do is set my training schedule. Tomorrow morning I'm getting up early and going running to get those miles in that will make my next race a success.
There was one bright spot in the race on Saturday. I ran with my friend Amy and she was awesome. This was her first race. She trained her butt off and beat her goal by 6 minutes! She's my hero and I'm going to train my butt off to run my next race as well as she ran this one.
No comments:
Post a Comment